Main page

Chairperson: Prof. Dr. Samina Saeed


Department of Political Science was established in 1952. It has since then initiated programs for the award of research degrees of M.Phil. and Ph.D. in Political Science and its allied fields.

The Department of Political Science has been playing an important role in the overall development of the University. It has been the mother of the Departments of International Relations, Sociology and Public Administration. At present the department is second in the Faculty of Arts, after Economics, in terms of the number of students enrolled.

The Department has, since its inception, very qualified and competent persons in its faculty. Professor (Late) Ilyas Ahmed, Professor Dr. M. Aziz Ahmed; Prof. Dr. Manzooruddin Ahmed, Professor Dr. Syed Adil Hussian, Professor (late) C.A Salahuddin, Professor (Late) Waheedud-din Kadri, Professor (Late) Syed Sadique Hussain, Prof. (Late) Dr. Syed Shahid Ali Rizvi, Prof. (Late) Dr. S. Rizwan Ali Rizvi, Prof. Dr. Arshad S. Karim, Prof. Nihal Hasan Rizvi, Prof. Dr. Tanveer Khalid and Dr. Hafiz M. Abdullah Qadri have served the Department with distinction.


Teaching and Assessment

Besides regular lectures delivered in both English and Urdu by the faculty the students participate in Seminars/ workshops and group discussions. Special lectures by visiting faculty are also attended by students compulsorily.


Career opportunities

In addition to teaching and research positions in academic settings, Political Science degree holders are prepared for careers at all levels of government as well as journalism, International business, International risk analysis and Political campaign organization their skills of surveys and statistical analysis is in high demand in the public and private sectors. Their knowledge and scientific education on current affairs, both national and international, caters to the needs of the job market especially competitive exams.